New Ideas in Marketing
Essential news for marketers, summarised by YouGov

The new tool will not let users delete the information from the site.

Facebook has unveiled its “Clearing History” feature which allows users to manage data that websites share with the social media site for ad-targeting. The new feature, which was announced last year, will enable users to limit the data that third-party websites and apps share with Facebook.

This piece states that this new tool will not delete the data that has been gathered by a third party about user behaviour. Instead, it will eliminate the connection between the data and the user’s confidential information on the site.

The “Off-Facebook Activity” tool has been launched in Ireland, South Korea and Spain and is expected to roll out in other markets in coming months.  Facebook said it had collaborated with privacy experts to develop this feature to make its data collection practises more transparent.

Read the original article

[3 minute read]

Related Content